Vegetarian Tips


What Are the 4 Types of Vegetarians? Answers and Explanation

image-1 image-1

Taking diet program is favorite option to become healthy. As people know gain greater awareness of their health, many kinds of diet programs also appear and give various options. Of course, it is necessary to know the suitable diet program to achieve the goal. In case you are interested in vegetarian, you may need to know specific types of the vegetarian diet. Then, what are the 4 types of vegetarians? There are some types of vegetarian, and each of them has specific restriction regarding the animal-derived products. You should know each of them so you will later know well what you should choose.

Some people may think that vegetarian is only about consuming plant based foods and excluding the animal-derived products. You may also be one of these people. In fact, there are some types of vegetarian. Each of them may have similarities in term of plant-based foods, and the differences are on the aspect of the animal-based food restriction. When you want to choose the vegetarian, then you should know them. So, what are the 4 types of vegetarians?

  1. Lacto-ovo vegetarian
    There are two words in front of vegetarian. There are “lacto” and”ovo”. The former refers to dairy products or products made from milks. Then, the latter refers to eggs. Then, this type of vegetarian diet is a type of vegetarian that restricts the meats, fish, pork, and poultry. However, this still allows you to consume eggs and dairy products. This is going to become good choices when you need more protein and calcium in your diet program.
  2. Lacto-vegetarian
    Second option is the lacto vegetarian. There is a word “lacto” in there, but there is no “ovo”. It means that you need to exclude all animal-derived products expect the dairy products. It means that you still can have milks, cheese, yogurts, and butter in your list of ingredients.
  3. Ovo-vegetarian
    This is type of vegetarian that still allows you having eggs in your composition or ingredients of diet menus. Meanwhile, other animal-derived products must be avoided or restricted. Even, it also includes that you cannot have fish and seafood.
  4. Vegan
    The fourth time is vegan. Some people have misunderstanding and think that both vegan and vegetarian are the same. In fact, they are different. It can be said that vegetarian is the general terms to show diet program prioritizing plant-based food and excluding animal-based products. Then, vegan is one of the types. In this case, vegan also becomes the one with strict rules. In vegan diet program, you cannot have any animal-derived products. You must exclude meats, poultry, pork, fish, and seafood. Then, you cannot have dairy milks and eggs. Even, you are not allowed to have honey and mayonnaise in your menu.  Some people choose to have vegan since they do not agree with the idea of animal exploitation to get food ingredients.

With these details of information, you now know four types of vegetarian. You will not need to ask about what are the 4 types of vegetarians? In fact, there is also pescatarian. This is unique type of vegetarian. In this type, you must exclude all meats, poultry, pork, eggs, and dairy products. However, you still can consume fish and seafood.


Related Articles


Recommendations of Easy and Simple Vegetarian Food List for Beginners

Health becomes important factors. That is why now people have gained more awareness regarding this aspect. One of the ways to achieve healthier body is by maintaining good diet program.

Important Information about What Does Vegan Mean

Various types of diet exist right now. In this case, vegan is one of them. In some ways, some people often misunderstand about the difference between vegan and vegetarian. Some people think that both...