Types of Vegetarians and Vegetarianism
Part-Vegetarian or Semi-Vegetarian
Someone who is a "part-vegetarian"
or "semi-vegetarian" eats no red or white meat (beef, pork,
venison, etc). The only animals that semi-vegetarians eat are fowl and
fish, although they usually eat by-products of red meat, like fats, oils,
gelatin etc. and wear clothes from animals.
That said, although we welcome all attempts
to reduce exploitation of animals, a person is either a vegetarian or
a meat-eater. You can't be a semi-vegetarian. It's like being semi-pregnant!
For an ultra-simple Vegetarian Diet which
you can adjust to any calorie-level, see Vegetarian
Bottom line: vegetarianism is incompatible
with eating meat or flesh (of any kind). Furthermore, vegetarianism means
avoiding all exploitation of animals for animal products (such as clothes
of animal origin) - at least according to vegan philosophy. That's why
most vegetarians would say that semi-vegetarians are not 'real' vegetarians
at all. Even so, some definitions of vegetarianism/non-meat-eating do
not consider fish to be meat. In addition, animal fats and oils, bonemeal
and skin are not considered meat by all vegetarians.
Related Vegetarian Terms